Bizet - L’Arlesienne Suite
Ravel - Piano Concerto in G
Prokofiev - Autumnal Sketch
Mussorgsky (arr. Ravel) - Pictures at an Exhibition

Conductor: Kirill Karabits
Piano: Louis Schwizgebel
A charming collection, the suite is lifted from music Bizet composed for Daudet’s play The Girl from Arles – a tragic story about unrequited love. Ravel’s G Major Concerto sparkles with energy and a sense of spontaneity, but it is far from casual in its craftsmanship, drawing upon Basque and Spanish melodies, jazz riffs and even his childhood fascination with mechanical toys. An early work by Prokofiev, his orchestral “sketch” paints a vivid picture. Mussorgsky’s musical wander through a fictitious gallery of works by his friend Victor Hartmann is a beautifully curated series of miniatures, some intimate, others grotesque, but all imbued with vivid orchestral colour by Ravel’s genius for scoring.
All BSO concerts this autumn will be available to watch in the Concert Hall or online.
Book your digital ticket here via the BSO website.






Ticket Information

{{group | date:'EEEE'}} {{group | dateSuffix}} {{group | date:'MMMM'}}

Add to calendar {{instance.startDate | date:'dd/MM/yyyy'}} {{instance.startHour}}:{{instance.startMinute}} {{instance.startDate | date:'dd/MM/yyyy'}} {{instance.endHour}}:{{instance.endMinute}} Europe/London {{instance.eventName}} Poole's Centre For The Arts 21 Kingland Road Poole Dorset BH15 1UG DD/MM/YYYY

School holiday


Audio described


School performance

Gold performance

Blue performance

Green performance

Orange performance


Suitable for schools

Relaxed performance

Dementia friendly performance

Sold out

To join the waiting list

please call us on 01202 280000

Please be reassured that ticket holders will be contacted directly, and we ask that customers do not call or email Lighthouse.