Brahms Violin Concerto
Ho  New Work
Schumann Symphony No.4 (Original Version)
Conductor Kirill Karabits

Violin Ning Feng


Brahms’ concerto stands as one of the largest and most challenging works in the solo violin repertoire, demanding extraordinary skills from the soloist. Though never showy for its own sake, it encompasses tender lyricism, brilliant vigour, and numerous Hungarian folk rhythms that Brahms himself so loved. Schumann’s Fourth Symphony is a sinuous and structurally taught work – four thematically connected movements, played without pause, enhancing the poetic flow of the solemn grandeur of the music before reaching its volatile and explosive ending.

We are delighted to commission a new work from Carmen Ho, BSO Librarian after her recent composing successes with the Royal Philharmonic Society and Toru Takemitsu Compositon Awards.

All BSO concerts this autumn will be available to watch in the Concert Hall or online.
Book your digital ticket here via the BSO website.

Ticket Information

{{group | date:'EEEE'}} {{group | dateSuffix}} {{group | date:'MMMM'}}

Add to calendar {{instance.startDate | date:'dd/MM/yyyy'}} {{instance.startHour}}:{{instance.startMinute}} {{instance.startDate | date:'dd/MM/yyyy'}} {{instance.endHour}}:{{instance.endMinute}} Europe/London {{instance.eventName}} Poole's Centre For The Arts 21 Kingland Road Poole Dorset BH15 1UG DD/MM/YYYY

School holiday


Audio described


School performance

Gold performance

Blue performance

Green performance

Orange performance


Suitable for schools

Relaxed performance

Dementia friendly performance

Sold out

To join the waiting list

please call us on 01202 280000

Please be reassured that ticket holders will be contacted directly, and we ask that customers do not call or email Lighthouse.