Mendelssohn - Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage
Schubert - Symphony No.8 'Unfinished'
Brahms - Symphony No.4
Conductor James Feddeck
Mendelssohn was just 19 when he wrote his descriptive overture, inspired by two very popular poems by Goethe. Opening with long-held notes stretching out like a vast expanse of still water, the wind stirs up and the ship continues its journey, arriving with a fanfare of trumpets at the end. With these two most perfect movements, Schubert ushered in the age of the Romantic symphony. It is powerful, satisfying music; perhaps it was left unfinished because it could not, need not be finished. Brahms’ Fourth Symphony is at once a summation of his learning and technique, and a work of art that for all its complexities cuts as close to the heart of the heart as music can. Of all his works, it displays Brahms’ essence most completely.
All BSO concerts this autumn will be available to watch in the Concert Hall or online.
Book your digital ticket here via the BSO website.

Ticket Information

{{group | date:'EEEE'}} {{group | dateSuffix}} {{group | date:'MMMM'}}

Add to calendar {{instance.startDate | date:'dd/MM/yyyy'}} {{instance.startHour}}:{{instance.startMinute}} {{instance.startDate | date:'dd/MM/yyyy'}} {{instance.endHour}}:{{instance.endMinute}} Europe/London {{instance.eventName}} Poole's Centre For The Arts 21 Kingland Road Poole Dorset BH15 1UG DD/MM/YYYY

School holiday


Audio described


School performance

Gold performance

Blue performance

Green performance

Orange performance


Suitable for schools

Relaxed performance

Dementia friendly performance

Sold out

To join the waiting list

please call us on 01202 280000

Please be reassured that ticket holders will be contacted directly, and we ask that customers do not call or email Lighthouse.