BSO Concert Hall 2 hours


Beethoven Violin Concerto
R Strauss Symphonia Domestica
Kirill Karabits Conductor
Augustin Hadelich Violin

The Symphonia Domestica is a multi-movement symphony describing a day in the life of the Strauss family. After introducing the Papa (Strauss), the Mama (Pauline) and the Baby (Franz), there follows a flowing commentary on domesticity. Scenes portrayed include the baby being admired by crooning relatives and a screaming tantrum at being put to bed, a very suggestive moment of passion and an enormous family row.

Ending with a bonding love theme, it is with this very special act of 'blessing' that the work transcends mere mundane description to become a metaphysical hymn to domestic love. Beethoven’s Violin Concerto possesses all the grandeur of those he wrote for the piano, exceeding the scale of any violin concerto that preceded it. However it is admired more for its sheer beauty than for its innovations and is now firmly established as one of the most beloved violin concertos in the repertoire. 


Please note: If you are booking 5 of more of the Series concerts you will need to call Ticket Office for the discount to be applied. Children’s tickets are only available through Ticket Office.

Ticket Information

{{group | date:'EEEE'}} {{group | dateSuffix}} {{group | date:'MMMM'}}

Add to calendar {{instance.startDate | date:'dd/MM/yyyy'}} {{instance.startHour}}:{{instance.startMinute}} {{instance.startDate | date:'dd/MM/yyyy'}} {{instance.endHour}}:{{instance.endMinute}} Europe/London {{instance.eventName}} Poole's Centre For The Arts 21 Kingland Road Poole Dorset BH15 1UG DD/MM/YYYY

School holiday


Audio described


School performance

Peak performance

Off Peak performance

Preview performance

Sold out

To join the waiting list

please call us on 01202 280000

Please contact the Ticket Office on 01202 280000