BSO Concert Hall 2 hours


SUK Scherzo Fantastique
DVORAK Piano Concerto
DVORAK Symphony No.5
Kirill Karabits CONDUCTOR
Sunwook Kim PIANO

Dvořák’s Piano Concerto is a beautiful and inspiriting work, rich in his characteristic melodic abundance and vivid colouring. Lyric and dramatic elements are effectively contrasted in the opening movement. The slow movement is an idyll of serenity with its theme of noble simplicity, the basis for a dialogue between soloist and orchestra that reaches no great climax but sustains a convincing atmosphere of deep peace prior to the vigorous finale.

His Fifth Symphony is a milestone work, one of those remarkable pieces that allow creative artists to unlock doors to new possibilities and opportunities. It has all the power and invention required to beguile, transport and agitate its audience, particularly in the tempestuous finale. Written in 1903, Suk’s sunny Scherzo Fantastique is partly an homage to his father-in-law, Dvořák. It has two themes in the first part, a lively dance for woodwinds and a waltz introduced by the cellos, before a slow polka leads to an exuberant conclusion 


Please note: If you are booking 5 of more of the Series concerts you will need to call Ticket Office for the discount to be applied. Children’s tickets are only available through Ticket Office.

Ticket Information

{{group | date:'EEEE'}} {{group | dateSuffix}} {{group | date:'MMMM'}}

Add to calendar {{instance.startDate | date:'dd/MM/yyyy'}} {{instance.startHour}}:{{instance.startMinute}} {{instance.startDate | date:'dd/MM/yyyy'}} {{instance.endHour}}:{{instance.endMinute}} Europe/London {{instance.eventName}} Poole's Centre For The Arts 21 Kingland Road Poole Dorset BH15 1UG DD/MM/YYYY

School holiday


Audio described


School performance

Peak performance

Off Peak performance

Preview performance

Sold out

To join the waiting list

please call us on 01202 280000

Please contact the Ticket Office on 01202 280000