BSO Concert Hall


PLEASE NOTE: Multibuy discount is not available online. If you are booking 5 or more concerts please book through the ticket office on 01202 280000

Reinhard Goebel

Bruno Delepelaire

Neue Lambacher Sinfonia in G

Cello Concerto

Serenade No.9 'Posthorn'

In 1779, Mozart found himself back in his native Salzburg after a disheartening journey through Germany and France seeking new employment opportunities. A period of great creativity, it heralded the emergence of his mature genius. The Posthorn is one of his largest serenades in duration, scope, and scoring, calling for as large an ensemble as his symphonies, and spanning a full emotional range. It takes its nickname from the inclusion of the post horn – traditionally used to announce the arrival and departure of coaches, specifically those carrying the mail.

After years of debate and misattribution, the New Lambach symphony is now recognised at coming from the pen of Leopold Mozart rather than Wolfgang. It represents Leopold at his most mature; a serious, progressive symphony and no mere novelty of which he is often accused of writing. Origins of a newly discovered concerto for cello have also been questioned. Which Haydn wrote it – Joseph or younger brother Michael? Whatever the case, it has a Mozartian combination of instrumental idiom and subtle large-scale structure.

Ticket Information

{{group | date:'EEEE'}} {{group | dateSuffix}} {{group | date:'MMMM'}}

Add to calendar {{instance.startDate | date:'dd/MM/yyyy'}} {{instance.startHour}}:{{instance.startMinute}} {{instance.startDate | date:'dd/MM/yyyy'}} {{instance.endHour}}:{{instance.endMinute}} Europe/London {{instance.eventName}} Poole's Centre For The Arts 21 Kingland Road Poole Dorset BH15 1UG DD/MM/YYYY

School holiday


Audio described


School performance

Select seats

Good Availability!

There's plenty of space. Take a look.

Limited tickets

Limited Availability!

Tickets are selling fast.

Sold out

To join the waiting list

please call us on 01202 280000