BSO Concert Hall


WAGNER - Parsifal: Prelude to Act I
SCHUMANN - Piano Concerto
ELGAR - Symphony No.1

Karl-Heinz Steffens - CONDUCTOR
Yulianna Avdeeva - PIANO

When Elgar’s First Symphony was introduced in December 1908, it was immediately hailed as a long-awaited landmark – as England’s First Symphony in effect – a true masterpiece. A work of magnificent grandeur and emotional depth, it begins with a broad, noble theme which binds the work together, recurring at intervals throughout the four movements before eventually emerging as a triumphant march at the very end.

Schumann’s concerto, although outwardly resembling those of Mozart and Beethoven, broke new ground in several respects. Most strikingly it moved away from the contemporary use of the concerto as a showcase for the virtuoso pianist. Instead piano and orchestra form an integrated whole, weaving subtle textures together with delightful lyricism. Parsifal’s prelude prepares listeners for the grandiose scope of the story about to unfold. Slowly and meditatively, it introduces the tale, its motifs building majestically before melting into a more intimate expression of pious reflection.

Ticket Information

{{group | date:'EEEE'}} {{group | dateSuffix}} {{group | date:'MMMM'}}

Add to calendar {{instance.startDate | date:'dd/MM/yyyy'}} {{instance.startHour}}:{{instance.startMinute}} {{instance.startDate | date:'dd/MM/yyyy'}} {{instance.endHour}}:{{instance.endMinute}} Europe/London {{instance.eventName}} Poole's Centre For The Arts 21 Kingland Road Poole Dorset BH15 1UG DD/MM/YYYY

School holiday


Audio described


School performance

Select seats

Good Availability!

There's plenty of space. Take a look.

Limited tickets

Limited Availability!

Tickets are selling fast.

Sold out

To join the waiting list

please call us on 01202 280000